<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0" xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/">
  <channel>
    <title>Peter's Blog - Nodes for byebye</title>
    <link>http://www.petersblog.org/</link>
    <description>Nodes containing the tag byebye</description>
    <item>
      <title>Bye Bye Flickr</title>
      <link>http://www.petersblog.org/node/view/1599</link>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;
I haven't used my flickr account for ages, since they made it mandatory to have a Yahoo ID to log in. I have no desire to be a yahoo customer, the company has tried too many times to foist me off with the yahoo toolbar. They are too pushy for my tastes. I wanted to close the flickr account but to do that I had to log in with a Yahoo ID (Catch 22) so it was a job I kept putting off. 
&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;
I decided to bite the bullet and do it. So that yahoo wouldn't be able to spam me I created a mail account with &lt;a href="http://mailexpire.com"&gt;http://mailexpire.com&lt;/a&gt; and used that to create a yahoo ID. mailexpire gave me a transient email address that will expire in a few hours time. All email sent to this address is forwarded to my own address. It took me three tries to get the illegible yahoo captcha right and I was given the usual wilkinsonpeter321 kind of ugly yahoo loser email address. I used it to delete the flickr account and then I deleted the yahoo ID which was barely ten minutes old. 
&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;
Time will tell whether mailexpire start sending me spam... 
&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;
I noticed this on the Yahoo sign-up site: 
&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;
NOTICE: We collect personal information on this site. &lt;/blockquote&gt; 
&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;
I'm not sure if this is a 'may contain nuts' kind of warning for a sign-up page that asks me for my name or if it means something more sinister. 
&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;Related Posts: &lt;a href="/tag/byebye"&gt;byebye&lt;/a&gt; &lt;a href="/tag/flickr"&gt;flickr&lt;/a&gt; &lt;a href="/tag/yahoo"&gt;yahoo&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <guid>http://www.petersblog.org/node/view/1599</guid>
      <category domain="http://www.technorati.com/tag">byebye</category>
      <category domain="http://www.technorati.com/tag">flickr</category>
      <category domain="http://www.technorati.com/tag">yahoo</category>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Site5 minus 750g</title>
      <link>http://www.petersblog.org/node/view/1518</link>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;
I mentioned &lt;a href="/node/1508"&gt;last week&lt;/a&gt; how I'd signed up for one of the &lt;a href="/tag/site5"&gt;site5&lt;/a&gt; 750g hosting packages and also &lt;a href="/node/1513"&gt;enquired&lt;/a&gt; whether my company could use a similar account for remote backup. Since the latter made me aware of the limitations of the 750g account I decided to cancel my personal account under their 60 day guarantee. 
&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;
They didn't quibble, they asked me to confirm that I had nothing that needed backing up and cancelled the account, refunding my money. 
&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;
In all the times I've had to deal with them site5 has always given me great service. 
&lt;/p&gt;&lt;p&gt;Related Posts: &lt;a href="/tag/byebye"&gt;byebye&lt;/a&gt; &lt;a href="/tag/site5"&gt;site5&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <guid>http://www.petersblog.org/node/view/1518</guid>
      <category domain="http://www.technorati.com/tag">byebye</category>
      <category domain="http://www.technorati.com/tag">site5</category>
    </item>
  </channel>
</rss>
